Gary E. Schmidt

Gary E. Schmidt

Peoria, Illinois
phone 309-676-1381
fax 309-676-0324

Gary received his Bachelor of Arts degree in Economics and History from Denison University in 1974 and his Juris Doctor from Southern Methodist University School of Law in 1977. He is licensed to practice law in the State of Illinois. He is also admitted to practice before the United States District Court for the Central District of Illinois.

Gary joined Kavanagh, Scully, Sudow, White & Frederick, P.C. as an Associate in 1978. In 1982, he became Of Counsel to the Firm to accept the position of President and Trust Officer of a local bank. He rejoined the Firm full time in 1993 and became a Member of the Firm in 1995. Gary is a Board Member of the Central Illinois Estate Planning Council. His practice is focused on estate planning and administration, real estate, taxation and business organizations.

An area native, Gary is a graduate of East Peoria Community High School. He and his wife, Trina, reside in Peoria Heights. Gary is  a member of the East Peoria Rotary Club, serves on the City of Peoria Sister City Commission, and is currently Secretary of the Friends of Clonmel.

Areas of Practice:

Probate & Estate Administration
Real Estate Law
Taxation Law

Bar Admissions:

Illinois, 1978
U.S. District Court Central District of Illinois, 1978


Southern Methodist University School of Law, Dallas, Texas, 1977  J.D.
Denison University, Granville, Ohio, 1974  B.A. Major:  Economics - History

Classes/Seminars Taught:

Title Insurance, Lorman, 2004
Wills, OSF Foundation, 1995 - 2002

Professional Associations and Memberships:

Rotary, 1992 - Present President
The Children's Home Association of Illinois, 1989 - 1998, Director
The Children's Home Association of Illinois, 1997 - 1998, Chairman
American Cancer Society, 1987 - 1995
Lakeview Museum Foundation, 1998 - 2005
Lakeview Museum Foundation, 2005, Chairman

Past Employment Positions:

The First National Bank of East Peoria, President, 1982 - 1987
Community Bank of Greater Peoria, Sr. Vice President, 1987 - 1994


Sigma Chi
Delta Theta Phi